Change of Address
Florida Driver’s License: Change of Address
Just moved? By law, Florida dictates to have your address updated on your license, vehicle registration and title certificate. You are also required to inform your insurance provider of your new address.
- Online application and Checklist download
- By mail, if eligible (see instructions below)
- In person at your local DMV office
An updated address is important for:
- Receiving license and renewal notices
- Finding out if your driving privileges are or close to being suspended
- Renewing license or registration online
- Receiving traffic ticket information – traffic citations issued when you are caught on camera
- Getting temporary or replacement license mailed to you if you are out of state
- To make the whole process easy, we have gathered all the information you need to change your address including the documentations, locations and costs involved.
Reporting a Change of Address
Upon moving to a new residence, you are obliged to notify the Florida Driver License Division of the change of address within 10 days. Fortunately, it is fairly easy. You can do it in person, by mail or through online. Select from the options below to get started.
For U.S. Citizens
Class E Driver Licenses
If you are a U.S. Citizen with a Class E driver’s license, you can report a change of address in three ways.
Visit GoRenew.com and follow the instructions carefully. Be ready to pay a fee of $25. Major credit cards are also accepted. The process usually takes about two weeks.
Download the Driver’s License or Identification Card Address Change Form. Fill it out and mail it to:
Bureau of Records
P.O. Box 5775
Tallahassee, FL 32314-5775
Do not forget to include the fee of $25 which can be made through a check or money order payable to the Division of Driver Licenses. Cash is always accepted as well. Your replacement license or change of address sticker (for licenses issued before July 1, 1997) to be affixed at the back of your license, will arrive after 30 days by mail.
Should you choose to submit your address change on your Florida driver’s license by mail visit flhsmv.gov to download the change of address form.
Bring your current driver’s license along with your identification documents, proof of legal presence or legal citizenship. Prepare the $25 fee. In most cases, the examiner will be able to issue a new license immediately. However, some larger offices may require two weeks processing time.
Please note that if your driver’s license was issued before July 1, 1997, you will receive a change of address sticker to place at the back of your license. On the other hand, if you owned a digitized licensed (issued after July 1, 1997), you will receive a new license instead of a sticker.
Moreover, Florida law demands to destroy your old license as soon as you get the new one.
Class A, B or C Commercial Licenses
If you are holding this type of driver’s license, you need to report a change of address in person. But before you visit your local driver license office, call for an appointment first and come in prepared. Be sure to have the proper documents to present to the examiner including identification, proof of citizenship or legal presence.
For Non U.S. Citizens
You need to apply in person along with a proof of legal presence at a nearby driver’s license office. You may also want to call first to make the process streamlined and a lot easier.
Documents accepted by the Florida DMV office
One of the following:
- Certified United States birth certificate, including territories and District of Columbia
- Valid United States Passport or Passport Card
- Consular Report of Birth Abroad
- Certificate of Naturalization, Form N-550 or Form N-570
- Certificate of Citizenship, Form N-560 or Form N-561
Proof of Social Security Number
One of the following:
- Social Security card (must be an original in your current full name)
- W-2 form (not handwritten)
- Pay check/stub
- Any 1099 (not handwritten)
Proof of Residential Address
Two different types of the following:
- Deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet or residential rental/lease agreement
- Florida Voter Registration Card
- Florida Vehicle Registration or Title
- Florida Boat Registration or Title (if living on a boat/houseboat)
- Two proofs of residential address from applicant’s parent, step-parent, legal guardian or other person with whom the applicant resides, along with (see next)
- A statement from a parent, step-parent, legal guardian or other person with whom the applicant resides, combined with two proofs of their residential address (see above)
- A utility hook up or work order dated within 60 days of the application
- Automobile Payment Booklet
- Selective Service Card
- Medical or health card with address listed
- Current homeowner’s insurance policy or bill
- Current automobile insurance policy or bill
- Educational institution transcript forms for the current school year
- Unexpired professional license issued by a government agency in the U.S.
- W-2 form or 1099 form
- Form DS2019, Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) status
- A letter from a homeless shelter, transitional service provider, or a half-way house verifying that they receive mail for the customer. The letter must be accompanied by the Certification of Address Form (see next)
- Certification of Address Form combined with a letter from a homeless shelter, transitional service provider, or a half-way house (see above)
- Utility bills, not more than two months old
- Mail from financial institutions; including checking, savings, or investment account statements, not more than two months old
- Mail from Federal, State, County or City government agencies (including city and county agencies)
- Transients – Sexual Offender/Predator/Career Offender: – FDLE Registration form